powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Jane Doe183 - 05/01/2012

March 14th - 04/20/2012

coming back....soon - 2012-02-02

Sickly - 2011-09-28

big changes - 2011-04-14

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

11:05 p.m. - 2004-05-31

Where do I begin to explain it all...

Today, is memorial day. A day set aside for those who have given themselves so that others may live. Brave men and women. Soldiers, sailors, Marines...in far off lands dying for mom and apple pie. They are what America is. What freedom comes from. We honor them this day.......right?

I wore My Marine Corps cover with gold Eagle, globe, and anchor (EGA) right in the middle. I would wear it all day in suport of those fighting, and those who lost the fight. Three hours into My workday, Im feeling good and a manager tells me the district manager wants me to take My hat off.....

I paused for a moment, and I say in a low tone I will remove it, but Im doing so under protest.

Some history needs to be shared....

I work for the largest retail chain of sporting goods in the US.

Sports Authority.

Golf department associates are allowed to wear golf hats. Bike dept people are allowed to wear bike hats. recieving associates wear hats anyways.

Today is memorial day. The one day I would wear anything on My head would be today. But no....I was told to take it off......by the very same man who last summer encouraged all of us to wear NY Yankee hats and jerseys to rally suport so they could win the world series. That was ok.

My Marine Corps cover, and the souls of thousands who died are not ok......according to Sports Authority.

Im in tears, screaming at My manager in the parking lot outside a huge clearance tent. Everyone can hear it, and see Me stressed out here...

"its not appoved policy" was what My manager callously put it. he didnt care, or couldnt care less about it. None of them did.

its bullshit. What kind of message does this send to people? Yankees are better then dead veterans? I think even the Yankees themselves would agree with me on this one. I even went as far as to call the local American Legion and told them what had happened, and My shame for working for such an ungrateful, and careless company. They too were troubled by it and mentioned a few senators were with them today, and hey would pass the news.

Good. Great even...

"tell them a Marine is upset too....."

Everyone who I told except managment or executives from the company showed any kind of concern.

its Bullshit.

Its wrong...

You ungrateful motherfuckers....

Marines, soldiers, and all are dying RIGHT NOW and you cant even acknowledge them.

Fuck you....

Fuck Sports Authority....

Dont like the USA......leave......we dont need you here.

May the men and women serving overseas get home safe. And may those who love them, never lose hope.

Goodnight.

2 people who actually read this crap

previous - next

This site is certified 100% EVIL by the Gematriculator

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

BroadWave Streaming Audio Server by NCH Software.