powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Jane Doe183 - 05/01/2012

March 14th - 04/20/2012

coming back....soon - 2012-02-02

Sickly - 2011-09-28

big changes - 2011-04-14

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

9:04 p.m. - 2010-07-09

Some hit and miss stuff, some thoughts, and some insights.

We had a special treat for Fathers day. When I left for work, and while my family slept, some scumbags broke into our shed, and stole our $2000 lawn tractor. But they left the gas powered weed whacker right next to it. Was very upsetting. Moving right along.

I lost 40lbs total on my diet plan. Walking has been hit and miss due to excessively high temps, or rain. But when I do walk, its for 90 or 120 mins now. Yes, two hours of walking around. My blood pressure is doing well though, which is a plus.

I went to the movies this week. Twice. Why twice? Same movie, 2 different versions. The 3D version was disappointing from a brightness point of view. So I went to see it again in 2D which was easier on the eyes and senses.

Which movie? Well...

Not that Im ashamed to say...

The Last Airbender.

"But thats about a cartoon on Nickelodeon!"

The reviews have been horrid, even before I went to see it. But I dont rely on reviews by critics, or people who get flustered because a movie doesnt match a book, or older form of picture which was made long ago. I go to be entertained.

The dialogue was ....less then perfect. The characters were missing alot of background detail which I like to see to relate to the characters. But I still enjoyed it regardless. So much so, having not seen the cartoon its based on I took it upon myself to watch it. Every single episode spanning three years. Back top back, with as few breaks as possible. It took 3 days. After the third day, I went to see the movie the 2nd time, and it made alot more sense to me. The real life movie is darker, more adult.... it feels....more real. Like there really is a struggle you can feel gripping you. Fans might not like it but I did.

Despite being a cartoon, fictional.... I read into things sometimes.

My favorite scene in the movie was when Aang opened himself to feeling pain, hurt and love for all the people he has lost and protected his new "family" by using the power of water to push the enemy away without killing anyone. (the cartoon version had him in a weird animal suit glowing, and it was more violent, but less dramatic I think).

The story touched me. I get caught up in a emotional, underdog struggle against insurmountable odds. Because thats usually when human beings, are at their finest. Its when we as a species prove our worth. Even if its fiction, I loved it. Makes me wish I knew about it when it first came out, the cartoon I mean.

It isnt hard to relate to the characters. All of them, in one way or another. Or to feel compassionate to their cause. We all feel defeated at times. The odds are against us at every turn, and it all seems impossible. But somehow through helping one another, though the hard times...we overcome them, work out our troubles....and sometimes we get the happy ending, and beautiful sunset we hope to see at the end of the battle.

Im a dreamer at heart. A pessimist mentally, and Im not afraid to admit that openly.

My dreams have been dark as of late. Exploits arent as spectacular, and I put limits on myself, even in dreams. Like some kind of realistic thinking slips into my fantasies. I dont know if its age, wisdom, experience, or pessimism. But its keeping me firmly on the ground, when Im tip toe into the bottom of the clouds trying to see whats up there.

There is a little bit of Aang in all of us. Some regret. Anger. Compassion, and love. Its just hard to show it sometimes.

I bought a new bag for work, it isnt a fancy Prada or anything, but it keeps my lunch, meds, and tools handy.

Im at a crossroads emotionally. Part of it is because this time last year Sam was with me, home from Germany. She passed away a couple months later. So I am taking her death hard still. I know its odd but she really had a effect on my life and he is missed everyday.

Otherwise Im staying to myself alot. Boring, but Im watching alot of movies.

Toodles.

0 people who actually read this crap

previous - next

This site is certified 100% EVIL by the Gematriculator

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

BroadWave Streaming Audio Server by NCH Software.