powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Jane Doe183 - 05/01/2012

March 14th - 04/20/2012

coming back....soon - 2012-02-02

Sickly - 2011-09-28

big changes - 2011-04-14

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

8:20 p.m. - 2007-09-26

Well, I had my first treatment yuesterday...in a long line of treatments spanning the rest of my natural life.

What suprized me the most about the whole ordeal was the actual cost of the very thing which is going to help prolong my life.

A bottle of dehydrated antitrypsin (which needs to be reconstituted in a long arduous process) costs the hospital $2000. Which if you asdk me is highway robbery no matter how you look at it. The bottle is only 100 milliliters. Equivilent to a small bottle of aspirin. Now if you want to laugh your ass off....

I require EIGHT BOTTLES for each treatment....

Go ahead grab your calculators.

$16,000 for one weeks treatment. And roughly $832,000 a year.....

I heard you say holy shit too.

Some side effects were discussed. I was warned I "could" contract a virus from the donated plasma. There are risks in all things and I figure I need this, so some risk can be allowed I guess. And no I dont sound that convincing but I have few options here.

Im (almost) a million dollar man.

If I didnt have the VA Hospital id be so screwed. They are paying for all of it. Most insurance companies wouldnt touch me. Pre-existing conditions are usually declined coverage. Unlike chemotherapy this is a lifelong treatment. Its expensive, and I dodged a major bullet by joining the military.

Aside from the cost, seeing only older senior citizens getting chemo reminded me the long road I have. Chances are I will see those people who were sitting there with blankets over them, slowly dying before me. They will come and go, and I will be the only constant in that little room with a needle in my arm.

Here's to living.... wish me luck.

4 people who actually read this crap

previous - next

This site is certified 100% EVIL by the Gematriculator

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

BroadWave Streaming Audio Server by NCH Software.