powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Jane Doe183 - 05/01/2012

March 14th - 04/20/2012

coming back....soon - 2012-02-02

Sickly - 2011-09-28

big changes - 2011-04-14

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

12:59 p.m. - 2006-09-15

She came, she saw, she left a comment. Yay!

Its the little things. *ahem*

I passed the last test today aside from the final. But failed the resume writing test. We had 2 weeks or so to write it, and the instructor gave me a 60% failing grade because in his opinion it was "too wordy" and it would bore a interviewer.

Im going to try and make some calls today. Some to companies in the gulf, some to the Northeast and some on the west coast. Any bites will be a plus. Past phone calls have gone to date unreplied to. It isnbt like I can force any of them to hire me. In class today after the test some numbers were thrown around. About $14-17 an hour average. Not bad, but with the overtime and low living expenses I can afford to put some of that away. WOrk 3 weeks on, one week off a month and I can pocket a sizable income. A new transportation vehicle will be a priority. Most companies who are paying higher wages require you to have your own gear. My car wont fit all the gear needed. Although i want it fixed and drivable, it will be insufficient for my needs. And no Im not selling it.

My chamber dive was successful. Dropped to 160' then placed on HeO2 and dropped to 187' final depth. The nitrogen levels at that depth were enough to make me quite drunk, and my voice was a squeaky high pitched version of the origional. Just one more experience which made me feel like a real professional diver. The thought that this would be my last exposure to such depth pressure as new divers out of school dont dive at all. They tend to other divers until sufficient time has passed and the company allows them to get wet. I might not dive again for 6 months or a year.

Ive accepted it. Im a rookie in the diving world, regardless of my almost 10 years scuba experience, it means jack next to commercial requirements. Bubbleheads just arent real divers.

Ive also started to accept the fact I might have to go to the gulf for a while to get the much needed blue water experience most emplyers look for. Get the experience and I can pretty much count on smooth sailing from there. Any place, any company wont hesitate in hiring me. Sort of like a blue collar internship or residency. have to pay the dues, then I can pick and choose my path. Giving a little, to gain alot is not much to ask. Having sacrificed before it wont be a problem to do so again. Not with financial freedom looming in the future. Im not a math genius... but the possibilty for six figure income in a few years is worth the wait.

It makes me wonder if acceptance, of not having positive control over what happens is a mark of maturity? Most guys want the quick money, the sign on bonuses, and I dont see it that way. Am I the one missing out by not approaching it in the same manner? I dont know...

I should start packing. I have to study. I still havent decided what to do after I graduate. I just know I have a job, and descisions to make. Some security is better than none.

1 people who actually read this crap

previous - next

This site is certified 100% EVIL by the Gematriculator

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

BroadWave Streaming Audio Server by NCH Software.