powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Jane Doe183 - 05/01/2012

March 14th - 04/20/2012

coming back....soon - 2012-02-02

Sickly - 2011-09-28

big changes - 2011-04-14

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

5:59 p.m. - 2006-08-10

Someone in school had more excitement than he bargained for today...

In no more than 10 feet of water (the water was actually 50 feet deep) he was tangled up on a line tied to a pipe underwater. His umbilical was wrapped around it, and he couldnt ascend to the surface so he started to panic. The standby diver was called in to free him. Shortly after the rescue diver was on him, he started wailing for help over the intercom. It isnt something we are used to hearing on a dive station. Full fledged cries for help from a grown man in ten feet of water, with plenty of air.

The instructor not knowing what was wrong, clothes and all strapped a dive helmet on and jumped in. The situation was quickly resolved and the diver brought to the surface.

He was so exhausted, it took three men to get him off the ladder and on the barge.

The frightened diver claimed the helmet was taking on water. (which was my first guess for the panic.) But I watched them undress him. There was no water in the hat. The freeflow was on and he had an overabundance of air. Even the instructor noted the hat was reasonably dry when he reached him.

He just paniced.

90% of all diver fatalities of any type commercial or recreational are attributed to diver panic. Freaking out under water can kill you. 10 feet is a far cry from 100....200....600 feet down such as where a commercial diver can find themself. I mentioned he should take a hard look at his career choice. he could be in the wrong place.

My knee is freaking killing me.

And I cant access my email through the library anymore. My landlord was kind enough to let me use his computer today.

I have a salad, and chicken wrap calling me.

The above scenario can happen to anyone. If you haoppen to find yourself immersed in a event where you just cant cope, and there was no cause to freak out..... step back and make sure you should be where you are. A what the fuck moment is natures way of kicking you squarely in the ass.

1 people who actually read this crap

previous - next

This site is certified 100% EVIL by the Gematriculator

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

BroadWave Streaming Audio Server by NCH Software.