powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Jane Doe183 - 05/01/2012

March 14th - 04/20/2012

coming back....soon - 2012-02-02

Sickly - 2011-09-28

big changes - 2011-04-14

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

4:48 p.m. - 2006-06-29

Im actually starting to feel like a real professional diver.

More underwater welding. Im getting better.

My instructor told me I will be doing my rigging project today. Normally it would consist of a 18ft long steel pipe about 6 inches in diameter laying on the bottom. The trick is to set up all the rigging gear needed to raise it to the surface. Nylon slings, shackles and a lifting source. Either a crane or more recently in the new school we use lift bags filled with air. A perfect score is achieved when all the rigging is properly placed, and the pipe is lifted to the surface UNDER CONTROL (unlike the air bag shooting to the surface and possibly hurting someone, and dragging the diver up with it therby causing an embolism and rapid death.)

My rigging project was diffrent. Instead I was told I would be raising the welding platform in the middle of the barge instead. (it needs to be raised so the barge can be repositioned.) A real task, and a real grade at the same time. Also much heavier than the pipe is.

I passed. 100%. Go me.

I need to take more pictures. So much goes on that I forget sometimes. And I didnt want to run the risk of losing the camera to a fall into the water.

Actually, I was dreading my rigging project (with the pipe) mainly because I didnt want to screw it up in the end. Just some nervous jitters. My brain is still trying to piece everything together into a discernable experience. Part of my brain overreacts. Logic prevailed. Go me again.

Tommorrow another test grade.

Go me?

2 people who actually read this crap

previous - next

This site is certified 100% EVIL by the Gematriculator

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

BroadWave Streaming Audio Server by NCH Software.